Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislators and Leaders - Speakers of the Houseprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Speakers of the Texas House of Representatives, 1846 - present

Name Biography* Party Years in Office Sessions Election documents
Joe Straus HOUSE Republican 2009-Present 81st - 84th View
Tom Craddick HOUSE Republican 2003-2009 78th - 80th View
James E. "Pete" Laney POTL Democrat 1993-2003 73rd - 77th View
Gibson D. "Gib" Lewis POTL Democrat 1983-1993 68th - 72nd View
Bill Wayne Clayton POTL Democrat 1975-1983 64th - 67th View
Marion Price Daniel, Jr. HTO Democrat 1973-1975 63rd View
William Rayford Price POTL Democrat 1972-1973 62nd 2nd - 4th Called Sessions View
Gus F. Mutscher 1 POTL Democrat 1969-1972 61st, 62nd View
Ben F. Barnes POTL Democrat 1965-1969 59th, 60th View
Byron M. Tunnell TSC Democrat 1963 58th View
James A. Turman POTL Democrat 1961 57th View
Waggoner Carr POTL Democrat 1957-1961 55th, 56th View
Jim T. Lindsey POTL Democrat 1955-1957 54th View
Reuben E. Senterfitt POTL Democrat 1951-1955 52nd, 53rd View
Thomas Durwood Manford, Jr. TSC Democrat 1949-1951 51st View
William O. Reed POTL Democrat 1947-1949 50th View
Claud H. Gilmer POTL Democrat 1945-1947 49th View
Marion Price Daniel HTO Democrat 1943-1945 48th View
Homer LaKirby Leonard TSC Democrat 1941-1943 47th View
Robert Emmett Morse POTL Democrat 1939-1941 46th View
Robert Wilburn Calvert TSC Democrat 1937-1939 45th View
Coke Robert Stevenson HTO Democrat 1933-1937 43rd, 44th View
Fred Hawthorne Minor HTO Democrat 1931-1933 42nd View
Wingate S. Barron POTL Democrat 1929-1931 41st View
Robert Lee Bobbitt POTL Democrat 1927-1929 40th View
Robert Lee Satterwhite POTL Democrat 1925-1927 39th View
Richard Ernest Seagler HTO Democrat 1923-1925 38th View
Charles Graham Thomas HTO Democrat 1921-1923 37th View
Robert Ewing Thomason HTO Democrat 1919-1921 36th View
Franklin Oliver Fuller HTO Democrat 1917-1919 35th View
John William Woods HTO Democrat 1915-1917 34th View
Chester H. Terrell HTO Democrat 1913-1915 33rd View
Samuel Taliaferro Rayburn HTO Democrat 1911-1913 32nd View
John Wesley Marshall POTL Democrat 1909-1911 31st View
Austin Milton Kennedy POTL Democrat 1909 31st View
Thomas Bell Love HTO Democrat 1907-1909 30th View
Francis William Seabury POTL Democrat 1905-1907 29th View
Pat Morris Neff HTO Democrat 1903-1905 28th View
Robert E. Prince POTL Democrat 1901-1903 27th View
J. S. Sherrill POTL Democrat 1899-1901 26th View
L. Travis Dashiell HTO Democrat 1897-1899 25th View
Thomas Slater Smith HTO Democrat 1895-1897 24th View
John Hughes Cochran HTO Democrat 1893-1895 23rd View
Robert Teague Milner HTO Democrat 1891-1893 22nd View
Frank P. Alexander POTL Democrat 1889-1891 21st View
George Cassety Pendleton HTO Democrat 1887-1889 20th View
Lafayette Lumpkin Foster HTO Democrat 1885-1887 19th View
Charles Reese Gibson HTO Democrat 1883-1885 18th View
George Robertson Reeves HTO Democrat 1881-1883 17th View
John Hughes Cochran HTO Democrat 1879-1881 16th View
Thomas Reuben Bonner HTO Democrat 1876-1879 15th View
Guy Morrison Bryan HTO Democrat 1874-1876 14th View
Marion DeKalb Taylor HTO Democrat 1873-1874 13th View
William Henry Sinclair POTL Republican 1871-1873 12th View
Ira Hobart Evans HTO Republican 1870-1871 12th View
Nathaniel Macon Burford HTO Unionist 1866-1870 11th View
Marion DeKalb Taylor HTO Democrat 1863-1866 10th View
Constantine W. Buckley HTO Democrat 1863 9th View
Nicholas Henry Darnell HTO Democrat 1861-1862 9th View
Constantine W. Buckley HTO Democrat 1861 9th View
Marion DeKalb Taylor HTO Democrat 1859-1861 8th View
Matthew Fielding Locke POTL Democrat 1858-1859 7th View
William S. Taylor POTL Democrat 1857-1858 7th View
Hamilton Prioleau Bee HTO Democrat 1855-1857 6th View
Hardin Richard Runnels HTO Democrat 1853-1855 5th View
David Catchings Dickson HTO Democrat 1851-1853 4th View
Charles G. Keenan HTO Democrat 1849-1851 3rd View
James Wilson Henderson HTO Democrat 1847-1849 2nd View
Stephen W. Perkins HTO Democrat 1846 1st View
William H. Bourland HTO Democrat 1846-1847 1st View
Edward Thomas Branch HTO Democrat 1846 1st View
John Brown HTO Democrat 1846 1st View
William E. Crump POTL Democrat 1846 1st View

*Key to abbreviations:
HOUSE=Texas House of Representatives; HTO=Handbook of Texas Online; POTL=Presiding Officers of the Texas Legislature 1846-1991; TSC=Texas State Cemetery

1. In a letter dated 3/27/1972, Gus Mutscher resigned as Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, effective upon the election of his successor by the Second Called Session of the 62nd Legislature. Pursuant to Rule I, Section 10 of the Rules of the Texas House of Representatives of the 62nd Legislature, Gus Mutscher appointed James Slider to call the House to order on the first day of the Second Called Session and to preside over the House pending the election of the Speaker.

Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845, Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-1992. [Austin, Tex.]: Senate Engrossing and Enrolling, Senate Reproduction, [1992].
Presiding Officers of the Texas Legislature 1846-1991. [Austin, Tex.]: Texas Legislative Council, 1991.
The Handbook of Texas Online [Austin, Tex.]: Texas State Historical Association and The General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin, [1999].