BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 77R6984 RJA-D

S.B. 774 By: Harris Jurisprudence 3/15/2001 As Filed

DIGEST AND PURPOSE

Currently, Johnson County is part of the Third Administrative Judicial Region, a large region extending from the Dallas and Fort Worth area down to Austin. It is geographically close to and has some interest in issues considered by the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region. As proposed, S.B. 774 moves Johnson County from the Third to the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Sections 74.042(d) and (i), Government Code, to remove Johnson County from the Third Administrative Judicial Region and add it to the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region.

SECTION 2. Effective date: September 1, 2001.