BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center

C.S.S.B. 774 By: Harris Jurisprudence 3/20/2001 Committee Report (Substituted)

DIGEST AND PURPOSE

Currently, Johnson and Somervell counties are part of the Third Administrative Judicial Region, a large region extending from the Dallas and Fort Worth area down to Austin. These two counties are geographically close to and have some interest in issues considered by the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region. C.S.S.B. 774 moves Johnson and Somervell counties from the Third to the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Sections 74.042(d) and (i), Government Code, to remove Johnson and Somervell counties from the Third Administrative Judicial Region and add them to the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region.

SECTION 2. Effective date: September 1, 2001.

SUMMARY OF COMMITTEE CHANGES

SECTION 1. Differs from original by removing Somervell County, as well as Johnson County, from the Third Administrative Judicial Region and adding both to the Eighth Administrative Judicial Region.

SECTION 2. No change.