LRL Home - Points of Interest - Week in review

Week in Review, April 23rd

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
 
 

Week in Review, April 16th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Explore the economic effects of an increased use of digital technologies. (Accenture, March 10, 2015)
  • Review selected characteristics of the membership of the 114th Congress. (Congressional Research Service, March 31, 2015)
  • Consider the state of America's libraries. (American Library Association, April 12, 2015)
  • Read about how the earned income tax credit affects low-income working families with children. (Urban Institute, April 9, 2015)
 
 

Week in Review, April 9th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Consider state-level English language learner policies. (Education Commission of the States, March 2015)
  • Read a new report on preschool. (U.S. Department of Education, April 2015)
  • See how states are handling the EPA's proposed greenhouse gas emissions standards. (National Conference of State Legislatures, April 7, 2015)
  • Review a table of state laws on parental involvement in a minor’s abortion. (Guttmacher Institute, April 1, 2015)
  • Examine political party affiliation by various demographics. (Pew Research Center, April 7, 2015)
  • Explore financial literacy state by state. (WalletHub, accessed April 8, 2015)
 
 
 

Week in Review, April 2nd

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Read about the effects of state-enacted texting-while-driving bans on crash-related hospitalizations. (Texas A&M Health Science Center, March 30, 2015)
  • Consider strategies aimed at reducing opioid overdoses and deaths. (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, March 26, 2015)
  • Examine new payday lending proposals. (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, March 26, 2015)
  • Explore legislative approaches to reducing gun violence. (Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence, accessed April 1, 2015)
 
 

Week in Review, March 26th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
 
 

Week in Review, March 19th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Find contact information for legislative staff of the 84th Legislature. (House Research Organization, 2015)
  • Consider how education systems affect creativity in students. (TED Talks, accessed March 18, 2015)
  • Map unemployment by state. (Bureau of Labor Statistics, January 2015)
  • Examine the federal debt limit. (Congressional Research Service, March 9, 2015)
 
 
 

Week in Review, March 12th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
 
 

Week in Review, March 5th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Read about the new net neutrality rules. (Federal Communications Commission, February 26, 2015)
  • See how many petroleum engineers there are in Texas. (Pew Charitable Trusts, March 2, 2015)
  • Consider the rapidly dwindling numbers of monarch butterflies. (Good Magazine, February 10, 2015)
  • Check out NASA's Image of the Day gallery. (NASA, accessed March 4, 2015)
 
 

Week in Review, February 26th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Explore the major taxes of Texas. (Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, February 2015)
  • See where Texas lands among states for well-being. (Gallup, February 19, 2015)
  • Examine economic segregation in America's metro areas. (Martin Prosperity Institute, February 2015)
  • Consider occupational hazards of public transportation. (Bureau of Labor Statistics, February 2015)
 
 

Week in Review, February 19th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Examine the effects of eliminating the Affordable Care Act's tax credits in federally-run marketplaces. (RAND, 2015) 
  • Review the outlook for the Texas economy. (Real Estate Center, Texas A&M University, February 2015) 
  • Consider the attorneys who may be arguing same-sex marriage cases before the U.S. Supreme Court. (Keen News Services, February 17, 2015)
  • Read about a federal judge temporarily blocking President Obama's executive order on immigration. (Jurist, February 17, 2015)
 
 

More Entries