LRL Home - Points of Interest - Week in review

Week in Review, January 15th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Read about each state's gubernatorial inauguration plans. (The New York Times, January 3, 2015)
  • Examine the state of health care in Texas. (Code Red Task Force on Access to Health Care in Texas, 2015)
  • See how much each state relies on federal aid. (The Washington Post, January 9, 2015)
  • Explore how changing demographics are affecting the American electorate. (Center for American Progress, January 6, 2015)
 
 

Week in Review, January 8th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Review state laws related to vaping products and minors' access to vaping products. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, December 12, 2014)
  • Examine education of immigrant children. (Harvard Graduate School of Education, December 11, 2014)
  • Consider the ubiquity of video cameras and their implications in recent jurisprudence. (LLRX.com, December 31, 2014)
  • Explore consumer issues related to communications. (Federal Communications Commission, accessed January 7, 2015)
 
 
 

Week in Review, December 18th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
Season's Greetings to all our readers! Week in Review will return on January 8, 2015.
 
 

Week in Review, December 11th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Examine how body-worn cameras affect policing. (U.S. Department of Justice, 2014)
  • Explore the economic effects of shale oil and gas production. (Congressional Budget Office, December 2014)
  • Read about the country's crude oil reserves. (U.S. Energy Information Administration, December 4, 2014)
  • Consider the implications of for-profit prison corporations. (American Friends Service Committee, November 17, 2014)
 
 

Week in Review, December 4th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Consider the effects of granting unauthorized immigrants temporary relief from deportation. (Migration Policy Institute, November 20, 2014)
  • Explore diabetes data, state by state. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, October 27, 2014)
  • Read about computer and Internet use in the United States. (American Community Survey, U.S. Census Bureau, November 2014)
  • Access read-only copies of articles in Nature for free. (Nature, December 2, 2014)
  • Examine how money from hydraulic fracturing is affecting banks. (Federal Reserve Bank of New York, December 1, 2014)
 
 

Week in Review, November 20th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • See what Americans think about privacy. (Pew Research Internet Project, November 12, 2014)
  • Read about drones and how they affect privacy. (LLRX.com, November 10, 2014)
  • Track changes in college pricing and financial aid. (College Board, November 13, 2014)
  • Examine factors that influence the development of mass-transit infrastructure. (U.S. Government Accountability Office, November 2014)
Happy Thanksgiving to all our readers! Week in Review will return December 4th.
 

Week in Review, November 13th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Read about how the way people browse Wikipedia could assist researchers in tracking the spread of flu in real time. (MIT Technology Review, November 3, 2014)
  • Examine survey findings on Houston's Hispanic population. (Rice University Kinder Institute for Urban Research, October 23, 2014)
  • See which state agencies are currently under Sunset review. (Sunset Advisory Commission, accessed November 12, 2014)
  • Explore different reports about legislative information for the 84th Legislature. (Texas Legislature Online, accessed November 12, 2014) 
 
 

Week in Review, November 6th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Check out election returns for the November 4, 2014 general election. (Texas Secretary of State, accessed November 5, 2014)
  • See a state-by-state map of the states' business tax climates. (Tax Foundation, October 28, 2014)
  • Read about how Common Core curricula are developed. (Curriculum Matters blog, Education Week, October 30, 2014)
  • Explore the cost of broadband Internet access in 24 cities all over the world. (Open Technology Institute, October 30, 2014)
 
 

Week in Review, October 30th

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
  • Examine the health care costs for people under 65 with employer-sponsored health insurance. (Health Care Cost Institute, October 2014)
  • Read about bicyclist safety. (Governors Highway Safety Association, October 2014)
  • Consider hospitals' struggles with potentially fatal infections acquired during a patient's hospital stay. (Kaiser Health News, October 21, 2014)
  • Compare unemployment rates during the recession to unemployment rates today, state by state. (Bloomberg Visual Data, September 30, 2014)
  • Explore voter turnout forecasts for the upcoming election. (Pew Research Center, October 29, 2014)
 
 

Week in Review, October 23rd

In this weekly post, we feature online articles and policy reports published recently, and other helpful research tools.
 
 
 

Previous Entries / More Entries