Senate Presidents Pro Tempore

Posted At: August 1, 2016 9:15 AM | Posted By: TexasLRL Related Categories: Members of the Legislature

A newly revised and expanded list of Senate Presidents Pro Tempore is now available on the library website. The page provides a list of legislators who have held this position, as well as a narrative history highlighting the changing nature of the position through the years.

As outlined in the Texas Constitution, the Senate President Pro Tem performs the duties of the Lieutenant Governor in his or her absence. Senate tradition also calls for the President Pro Tempore to be sworn in as "Governor for a Day", a 60+-year tradition that includes ceremonies and celebrations honoring the President Pro Tem and showcasing his or her district.

During the 84th Texas Legislature in 2015, Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa served as Senate President Pro Tem for the Regular Session, and Sen. Kevin Eltife was elected at the close of the Regular Session for the legislative interim.

Did you know?

Before 1876, there was no constitutional requirement for electing a Senate President Pro Tem at the beginning and close of each session. Instead, Art. V, Sec. 13 of the 1845 Texas Constitution provided that:

"Whenever the If the lieutenant governor shall...die, resign, or be absent from the State during the recess of the legislature, it shall be the duty of the secretary of State to convene the Senate for the purpose of choosing a president for the time being."

Sen. Robert Guinn, Senate President Pro Tem for the 9th - 11th Legislatures (1861-1866)

Sen. Judith Zaffirini. First Latina President Pro Tempore and first Latina Governor of the Day (75th Legislature, 1997).