Members Not Returning to the 85th Legislature

Posted At: May 31, 2016 12: 31 PM | Posted By: TexasLRL

Related Categories: Members of the Legislature

In January, we compiled a <u>list of members not returning</u> to the 85th Texas Legislature. An updated list that includes the results of the recent primary runoffs is provided below. 22 members of the Texas House and 2 members of the Texas Senate will not return in 2017. To see a full list of members of the 84th Texas Legislature (2015), please go here.

Table: Members not returning to the 85th Texas Legislature

lable: ivembers not	returning to the 85th Texas Legislatu
Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock	Retiring
Rep. Myra Crownover	Retiring
Sen. Kevin Eltife	Retiring
Rep. Joe Farias	Resigned effective 8/10/15
Rep. Marsha Farney	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/1/2016
Rep. Allen Fletcher	Retiring
Sen. Troy Fraser	Retiring
Rep. Patricia Harless	Retiring
Rep. Bryan Hughes	Won primary runoff for Texas Senate, 5/24/2016
Rep. Jim Keffer	Retiring
Rep. Susan King	Defeated in Republican primary runoff for Texas Senate, 5/24/2016
Rep. Marisa Márquez	Retiring
Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer	Defeated in Democratic primary for Texas Senate, 3/1/2016
Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon	Resigned effective 1/31/16
Rep. Doug Miller	Defeated in Republican primary runoff, 5/24/2016
Rep. Elliott Naishtat	Retiring
Rep. John Otto	Retiring
Rep. Debbie Riddle	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/1/2016

Rep. David Simpson	Defeated in Republican primary runoff for Texas Senate, 5/24/2016
Rep. Wayne Smith	Defeated in Republican primary runoff, 5/24/2016
Rep. Stuart Spitzer	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/1/2016
Rep. Scott Turner	Retiring
Rep. Sylvester Turner	Resigned effective 1/1/16; sworn in as Wayor of Houston on 1/2/16
Rep. Mblly White	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/1/2016