Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Public Safety - 81st R.S. (2009)

Committee Members
Tommy Merritt, Chair
Stephen Frost, Vice Chair
Lon Burnam
Joe Driver
Phil King
Tryon D. Lewis
Barbara Mallory Caraway
Eddie Rodriguez
Hubert Vo
  • Study the recruitment and retention practices that the Department of Public Safety currently employs and make recommendations on how to make improvements. Specifically, examine the current officer shortage in Texas and the effect it is having on the state's public safety.
  • Investigate best practices to process concealed hand gun licenses in order to alleviate backlog and make recommendations for implementation, if appropriate.
  • Monitor the Driver Responsibility Program and consider methods for overall improvement of the program.
  • Study the statutory definition, duties, and authority of a Texas peace officer.
  • Evaluate the effectiveness of state operations at controlling drug-related crimes and other violence along the Texas-Mexico border. Joint Interim Charge with House Committee on Border and Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Monitor the agencies and programs under the committee's jurisdiction.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.