Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Emergency Preparedness, Select - 81st R.S. (2009)

Committee Members
Aaron Peña, Chair
Mike 'Tuffy' Hamilton, Vice Chair
Frank Corte, Jr.
Harold V. Dutton, Jr.
Joe Farias
Stephen Frost
Richard "Rick" Hardcastle
Tryon D. Lewis
Mark Strama
Larry Taylor
Allen Vaught
  • Comprehensively study the State of Texas' preparedness level for major disasters, including those resulting from natural catastrophes and criminal activity. The study should include an analysis of the level of preparedness among critical infrastructure entities, state and local emergency planning organizations, emergency warning systems, evacuation plans, first response efforts, and overall coordination of jurisdictions across the state. As part of its work, the committee should conduct a review of previous studies regarding emergencies to determine whether progress has been made. The committee should make legislative recommendations to improve preparedness for future disasters.

Established under Rule 1, Section 16 (Proclamation, Speaker Joe Straus, 1/12/2010).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.