Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Energy Resources - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members


  • Study the rising epidemic of oil field theft in Texas in cooperation with producers, operators, haulers, the Texas Railroad Commission, the Texas Department of Public Safety and local law enforcement agencies to determine better methods for prevention and investigation of thefts as well as apprehension and prosecution of suspected oil field thieves. Make recommendations to the 68th Legislature.
  • Examine Proposition Number 7 as adopted by the Austin City Council to determine its impact on the cost of electric service provided to the State Capitol Complex. Particular emphasis should be given to 1)comparing the rates charged by Austin Electric Utility Department to those of other electric utilities supplying large-volume users in the Central Texas area; and 2) investigating all other potential sources of supply. Recommendations are to be made based on an examination of the proposition, the cost comparison data and an evaluation of alternative procedures.
  • Study the procedure for leasing of hard rock minerals in terms of monetary value for the principals involved.
  • Examine the requirements for the posting of performance bonds on oil and gas wells.
  • Study requirements for the municipal annexation of submerged land to determine if any changes are necessary.
  • Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature. In addition, a study should be made of the impact of any federal cuts, and the differences in the operational aspect of the agencies under block vs. categorical grants. Close scrutiny should be given to each agency to ascertain if legislative intent is being carried out in the rules promulgated by the agency and if the rules are feasible and practical in their application. These agencies include:
    Railroad Commission (partial)
    Texas Energy and Natural Resources Advisory Council
    Southern States Energy Board


James Nowlin (Member) resigned 11/6/1981.

Lamar Smith (Member) appointed 1/27/1982. (Memorandum, Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, January 27, 1982. See House Speaker Clayton Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1979-92. )

Lamar Smith (Member) resigned 11/15/1982.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.