Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Sanitary Legislation - 14th R.S. (1874)

Committee Members
Charles Bellinger Stewart, Chair
William Shelby Delany
Astyanax M. Douglass
Gerald Alexander Foote
Thomas Miller Joseph
George Washington Matthews
Alfred Knox Middleton
John H. Stuart
William Henry Trolinger
William Harrison Westfall
  • Make effort in discovery of the causes and the means of prevention of diseases, particularly in regard to epidemic diseases.
  • Ascertain and make due report to the next session of the Legislature what legislative measures may be useful or necessary in the sanitary interests of the country.

House members appointed by Speaker 4/23/1874, pursuant to resolution by Stewart of Montgomery; joint committee report 5/1/1874, including State Medical Assosciation report; John T. Stuart of Houston added 1/12/1875 (House Journal, 14th R.S., pp. 518-519, 632-640 and 14th 2nd R.S., p. 9).
Senate members appointed 4/25/1874, pursuant to concurrent resolution (Senate Journal, 14th R.S., pp. 481-482).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.