Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Texas Siftings Publication, Select - 18th R.S. (1883)

Committee Members
Andrew Todd McKinney, Chair
Lafayette Lumpkin Foster
John Anderson McAlpine
J.D. Parsons
William Franklin Sharp
Robert E. Steele
  • Investigate the truthfulness of charges made by the Texas Siftings newspaper, charges of dishonesty and bribery made against certain members of the Eighteenth Legislature in the matter of the penitentiary lease.*
  • Send for persons and papers, compel the attendance of witnesses, administer oaths, and do all things necessary to obtain a full and free investigation of the aforesaid charges.*

Appointed by Speaker 3/30/1883, pursuant to resolution by Chenoweth; question of privilege, extract from the Texas Siftings, published at Austin, Texas, dated 3/31/1883, and reasons for vote; McKinney replaced Foster of Limestone 3/30/1883; McKinney listed as Chairman on select committee report 4/12/1883 (House Journal, 18th R.S., pp. 400-401, 403, 476-477).

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.