House Committee on Health Care Reform, Select - 88th R.S. (2023)

Committee Members


  • Study reducing the impact of excessive health care costs on the efficacy of government-sponsored health plans and the private health insurance market, including the corresponding impact on individuals, businesses, and state government.
  • Study improving health care affordability, including factors such as transparency, competition, and patient incentives.
  • Study reducing the impact of government benefit, administrative, and contractual coverage mandates and the corresponding impact on employer and consumer premiums and out-of-pocket costs.
  • Study improving access to affordable, quality, and comprehensive health care, especially for low-income and at-risk populations.
  • Study improving access to and affordability of prescription drugs.
  • Study improving outreach to families with children who are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP, including children in rural areas.
  • Study reducing the impact of delayed care on the state's health care delivery system, health care costs, and patient health outcomes.


Appointed by Speaker Dade Phelan 2/8/2023, pursuant to Rule 1, Section 16(b), House Rules.
Proclamation, 2/8/2023

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.