Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Segregation in Public Schools, Advisory - 54th R.S. (1955)

Committee Members
A.M. Aikin, Jr.
Searcy Bracewell
Virginia Elizabeth Duff
Benjamin Butler Ferrell
Alonzo W. Jamison
David Ratliff
Elbert Reeves
Thomas H. Stilwell
Public members
Neal D. Cannon
M. K. Curry
Mrs. Alden Davis
Arthur DeLoach
Herbert Donnell
Martin L. Edwards
E. B. Evans
Mrs. Joe Fisher
Victor M. Goertz
Joseph Gomez
Leo Hackney
M. J. Harvey
Edmund Heinsohn
W. Howard Hoffman
Charles Howell
E. W. Jackson
Mrs. Ed Kilman
James L. Lindsay
Toland Meridith
William C. Monroe
Will Crews Morris
J. B. Parker
Mrs. Joe Perkins
Tom M. Pogue
Mrs. Leon S. Price
Harry Provence
F. H. Purnell
Alf Roark
Earnest E. Sanders
W. H. Smith
C. N. Sullivan
S. E. Wood
Allan Wright

Appointed by Lieutenant Governor 6/7/1955 and Speaker (House Journal, p. 3580). See reports of Legal and Legislative Subcommittee (G1073.3 R299L; E500.8 R425L) for public members.
Public members Edwards, Evans, Perkins, Fisher, Meridith, Howell, Sullivan, Hackney, Lindsay, Sanders, Parker, Donnell, Monroe, Smith, Pogue, Morris, Hoffman, Purnell, Cannon, Roark, Kilman, Heinsohn, Davis, Goertz, Jackson, Curry, Wood, DeLoach, Price, Wright, Gomez, Provence, and Harvey appointed July 27, 1955. (Press Release, Governor Shivers, July 27, 1955.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.