Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Public Safety - 73rd R.S. (1993)

Committee Members
Keith Oakley, Chair
Kevin Bailey, Vice Chair
Ray Allen
Bill Carter
Eddie Cavazos
Al Edwards
Mike Krusee
Vilma Luna
Albert Price
Ciro Rodriguez
Ashley Smith
Jerry Yost
  • Study the statutes creating the position of peace officer, including the criteria for peace officer classification.
  • Examine the accuracy and completeness of reports of convictions to the Department of Public Safety for purposes of driver's license and criminal history checks.
  • Conduct active oversight of agencies under the committee's jurisdiction, including a study of mandated reports to the legislature and legislative agencies. The study should consist of a review of the legislative reporting requirements of all agencies to identify areas where reporting obligations could be streamlined and agency accountability improved. The committee shall make specific recommendations about the continuation, modification or elimination of required legislative reports.

Eddie Cavazos elected to 73rd Legislature but never sworn. Vilma Luna, who replaced Cavazos, sworn 5/4/93.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.