Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Transportation, Interim - 75th R.S. (1997)

Committee Members
Ken Armbrister, Chair
David Cain
Troy Fraser
Mario Gallegos
Drew Nixon
Bill Ratliff
Carlos F. Truan
• Review and make any necessary recommendations on whether current methods of financing transportation projects allow the state to respond adequately to increases in population and congestion, including review of systems used in other states.

• Identify viable, alternative modes of transportation to ease highway and local road congestion and evaluate whether the state adequately promotes alternative modes of transportation.

• Study and determine if legislative action is needed on current funding mechanisms for metropolitan transit authorities and examine whether needed services are being provided in a cost-effective manner.
• Study the incidence of railroad related accidents and fatalities in Texas and determine whether legislative or administrative action should be pursued.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.