Public School Finance, Select - 77th R.S. (2001)

Committee Members

Public members

  • Will Davis
  • Craig Foster
  • David Thompson


  • Conduct a comprehensive review of the public school finance system in Texas, including: the system's structure, being sure to address issues of facilities, transportation and similar issues; the method of funding for public schools in the state; and factors that determine how to pay for education( e.g., personnel costs vs. student attendance, course completion, classroom vs. distance learning).
  • Consideration of all equity issues affecting school districts and the school finance system.
  • Examine fully the revenue resources for funding public schools, including a review of the state's tax system as it relates to public school finance.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.