Senate Committee on Delivery of Human Services in Texas - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members

Public members

  • Helen Farabee, Chair
  • Morris Atlas
  • Rebecca Canning
  • Dr. Joaquin Cigarroa
  • John E. Codwell
  • Frank C. Erwin, Jr.
  • Ann Richards
  • Max Sherman


  • Make a thorough study of the human services delivery system in Texas, including Texas and federal laws relating to human services, existing human services provided by both state-supported entities and the private sector, populations served by the services, and the effective use of state funds.
  • 1. To recognize that long range planning is needed because human needs change as people and their environments change;
    2. To provide the means for systematic review, evaluation and modification of the delivery of human services to cope with population growth and change;
    3. To examine in depth the lack of coordination of human services and to recommend solutions;
    4. To plan now for the use of all the resources of the state - human, natural, and economic - in order to avert pitfalls experienced by other states; and
    5. To assist in developing plans and priorities for improving the delivery of human services beginning with the Sixty-seventh Legislature and continuing through successive sessions.


Committee created pursuant to SR 67, 65th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, which issued the original committee charge.

According to The potential in the patchwork : a future pattern for human services in Texas, page 2, at the Committee's organizational meeting on September 7, 1978, Lieutenant Governor Hobby further charged the Committee.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.