Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

Senate Committee on Highway Department Investigation, Committee of the Whole Senate - 43rd R.S. (1933)

Committee Members
Charles Clinton Small, Chair
John W.E.H. Beck
Elmore J. Blackert
Wilbourne Bailey Collie
William Roy Cousins
Thomas Arthur DeBerry
Arthur Pope Duggan
Ernest Fellbaum
Julian Preston Greer
Thomas Jefferson Holbrook
Welly Kennon Hopkins
John William Hornsby
William Marvin Martin
Joseph M. Moore
Cecil Murphy
Margie E. Neal
Benjamin Grady Oneal
William Dent Pace
Archie Parr
Nat Patton
William Robert Poage
George Clark Purl
Frank Hill Rawlings
John Sayers Redditt
Kenneth Mills Regan
Gus Russek
Roy Sanderford
Albert Stone
Grady Woodruff
Walter Frank Woodul
Walter Calisto Woodward
  • Senate will resolve itself into a Committee of the Whole for the purpose of inquiring into certain other charges made by the Governor of the state with respect to the management and expenditures of certain sums of money belonging to the State Highway Fund.

Governor sent letter dated 2/13/1933 to Senate describing situation with Highway Department Fund and the Security Trust Company and followed letter with further documentation on 2/15/1933. SR 46 by Woodruff directed Senate to convene as Committee of the Whole. Senate first convened a Subcommittee on Rules of Procedure to set process for Senate convening as Committee of the Whole. Within adopted Subcommittee report, the Lieutenant Governor was directed to name a chair for the Committee as a Whole proceeding and that chair would name four senators to serve as a Board of Managers to advise chair during proceedings. No record in journal of chair or committee named. Sen. Hopkins resignation found at p. 274 and is addressed to Sen. Small as chair. Within proceedings, the members of the Board of Managers were determined, but reservations remain as to the accuracy of the members listed.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.