Lamar Smith

Lamar Smith

Full Name: Lamar Seeligson Smith

Terms of Service top

Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
H 57-F Dec 15, 1981 - Nov 15, 1982 67th (1) (2)   Republican San Antonio / Bexar   Bexar

(1) Lamar Smith, in special election 12/5/1981, sworn 12/15/1981, succeeded James R. Nowlin, resigned 11/6/1981. Smith resigned 11/15/1982 (he served 67th 2nd and 3rd Called Sessions only). Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004, 2005.
(2) Resignation letter to Governor Clements dated 11/18/1982, effective 11/15/1982 upon oath of office as County Commissioner, Precinct 3, Bexar County. Texas House of Representatives.

Biographical Notes and Resources top

Resolutions and Journal entries

Biographical Sketches


  • Photograph. Lamar Smith, 67th Legislature, State Preservation Board

Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol

Committee Information top

67th R.S. - 1981
Energy Resources  
Fire Ants in Texas, Select  
Ways and Means  

This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.