Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislators and Leaders - Texas Legislators: Past & Present - Member profileprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

W.L. Moody William Lewis Moody
Full Name: William Lewis Moody
Date of birth: May 19, 1828
Date of death: July 17, 1920

Terms of Service top
Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
H 12 Jan 13, 1874 - Mar 14, 1874 14th (1) (2)   Democrat Galveston / Galveston   Brazoria, Galveston, Matagorda

(1) Entire Senate went up for reelection due to Senatorial redistricting. Ordinance adopted by Constitutional Convention of the State of Texas, 1875. Remained in effect from its passage until first reapportionment after 1880 Census. University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History. Apportionment Laws of Texas, 1836-1950, 1950.
(2) Mordello S. Munson, in special election 4/16/1874, sworn 1/14/1875, succeeded William L. Moody, resigned 3/14/1874. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004, 2005.
Biographical Notes and Resources top
Biographical Sketches
  • MOODY, WILLIAM LEWIS (1828-1920). Handbook of Texas Online.
  • Biographical sketch and portrait, pp. 270-274. Year Book for Texas, 1901, 1902.
  • Military Service Notes
  • Confederate States Army, Captain, Company G, 7th Texas Infantry; later reached rank of Lieutenant Colonel. Portrait in uniform. Handbook of Texas Online.
  • Biographical sketch, pp. 81-82. Texans Who Wore the Gray, 1907.
  • Photographs
  • Photograph. W.L. Moody, 14th Legislature, State Preservation Board
  • Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol
  • 14th session composite photo of Senate and House members (Ground floor elevator vestibule, east wall. GW.V3). State Preservation Board.
  • Committee Informationtop
    14th R.S. - 1874
    Commerce and Manufactures  
    Comptroller and Treasurer  
    Comptroller's and Treasurer's Office  
    Election Contest, Petition of S.Y. Smith of Walker County, James V. Lea (Chair) 
    Finance (Chair) 
    Financial Condition of the State (Co-Chair) 
    Judiciary No. 1  
    Removal of Judge Henry Maney, 22nd Judicial District  
    Town and City Corporations  
    Treasurer's Office  

    This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

    Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

    Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.