Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill details

Bill details Help  |  Status

HB 1009, 83rd R.S.
Relating to the creation of a new category of law enforcement officer who shall be designated a school marshal, the training and appointment of certain employees of a school district or open-enrollment charter school as school marshals, and the rights, restrictions, limitations, and responsibilities of school marshals; authorizing the imposition of a fee.

Last action: Effective immediately

Author: Jason Villalba
Joint Author: Greg Bonnen | Allen Fletcher | José Menéndez | Jim Keffer
Coauthor: Charles "Doc" Anderson | Cecil Bell | Dennis Bonnen | Terry Canales | Giovanni Capriglione | Travis Clardy | John Davis | Pat Fallon | Marsha Farney | James Frank | John Frullo | Charlie Geren | Lance Gooden | Ryan Guillen | Bryan Hughes | Jason Isaac | Phil King | Stephanie Klick | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Lyle Larson | Jodie Laubenberg | George Lavender | Jeff Leach | J. M. Lozano | Eddie Lucio III | Rick Miller | Jim Murphy | Poncho Nevárez | Rob Orr | Charles Perry | Richard Peña Raymond | Debbie Riddle | Scott Sanford | Ralph Sheffield | Ron Simmons | Wayne Smith | Drew Springer | Phil Stephenson | Jonathan Stickland | Van Taylor | Ed Thompson | Steve Toth | Scott Turner | James White | Bill Zedler
Sponsor: Kelly Hancock
CoSponsor: Dan Patrick

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2013, 83rd R.S.,ch. 655, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


SB 1161 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Education--Primary & Secondary--Charter Schools
Education--Primary & Secondary--Other School Personnel
Education--School Districts
Law Enforcement

House Committee: Homeland Security & Public Safety (Joseph Pickett, Philip Cortez, Tony Dale, Allen Fletcher, Dan Flynn, Tim Kleinschmidt, George Lavender, Kenneth Sheets, Ron Simmons)
Minutes: March 14 2013 | April 4 2013
Senate Committee: Education (Dan Patrick, Donna Campbell, Robert Duncan, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Ken Paxton, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Leticia Van de Putte, Royce West)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.