SB 1, 84th R.S. history

Help | Status

SB 1, 84th R.S.
Relating to certain restrictions on the imposition of ad valorem taxes and to the duty of the state to reimburse certain political subdivisions for certain revenue loss; making conforming changes.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Jane Nelson
Joint Author: Paul Bettencourt | Brian Birdwell | Konni Burton | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Craig Estes | Troy Fraser | Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Juan Hinojosa | Don Huffines | Joan Huffman | Lois Kolkhorst | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Robert Nichols | Charles Perry | Charles Schwertner | Larry Taylor | Van Taylor | Carlos Uresti | Kirk Watson | Royce West
Sponsor: Dennis Bonnen
CoSponsor: Yvonne Davis | Dwayne Bohac | Angie Button | Trey Martinez Fischer | Jim Murphy | Tan Parker | Drew Springer | Chris Turner | John Wray | DeWayne Burns | John Cyrier | Wayne Faircloth | Rick Galindo | Mark Keough | Linda Koop | Brooks Landgraf | Will Metcalf | Morgan Meyer | Andrew Murr | Dennis Paul | Gilbert Peña | Dade Phelan | Matt Rinaldi | Mike Schofield | Leighton Schubert | Matt Shaheen | Stuart Spitzer | Tony Tinderholt | Rodney Anderson | Pat Fallon | Ryan Guillen | J. M. Lozano | Wayne Smith | René Oliveira | Joe Deshotel | Bryan Hughes | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra

Remarks: This Act takes effect on the date on which SJR 1 takes effect, except Sections 3 through 9, 11 through 16, and 25 take effect immediately, and Section 18 takes effect September 1, 2017. If SJR 1 is not approved by the voters, this Act has no effect.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2015, 84th R.S.,ch. 465, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation

Enabling legislation for: SJR 1

Bill Analyses:
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Committee Report (TLC)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/27/2015) Dennis Bonnen (Chair) | Drew Darby | Trey Martinez Fischer | Tan Parker | Drew Springer |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/25/2015) Jane Nelson (Chair) | Paul Bettencourt | Juan Hinojosa | Joan Huffman | Robert Nichols |

Gubernatorial documents:

Education--Primary & Secondary--Finance
Property Interests--Homestead
Taxation--Property-Appraisals & Appraisal Districts
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-State Administration
Taxation--School District

House Committee: Ways & Means (Dennis Bonnen, Dwayne Bohac, Angie Button, Drew Darby, Yvonne Davis, Trey Martinez Fischer, Jim Murphy, Tan Parker, Drew Springer, Chris Turner, John Wray)
Minutes: May 12 2015 | May 21 2015
Senate Committee: Finance (Jane Nelson, Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Kevin Eltife, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Joan Huffman, Lois Kolkhorst, Robert Nichols, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Kirk Watson, Royce West, John Whitmire)
Minutes: March 2 2015 | March 4 2015 | March 17 2015

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.