SB 179, 85th R.S. history

Help | Status

SB 179, 85th R.S.
Relating to harassment, bullying, and cyberbullying of a public school student or minor and certain mental health programs for public school students; increasing a criminal penalty.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/17

Author: José Menéndez
Joint Author: Judith Zaffirini
Coauthor: Larry Taylor | Sylvia Garcia | Kirk Watson | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Brandon Creighton | Donna Campbell | Joan Huffman | Paul Bettencourt | Juan Hinojosa | Royce West
Sponsor: Ina Minjarez
Joint Sponsor: Wayne Faircloth | Joe Moody | Lyle Larson | Ken King
CoSponsor: Alma Allen | Roberto Alonzo | Rafael Anchía | Diana Arévalo | Kyle Biedermann | Philip Cortez | Joe Deshotel | Jessica Farrar | Barbara Gervin-Hawkins | Ryan Guillen | Jeff Leach | Eddie Lucio III | Dade Phelan | Richard Peña Raymond | Kevin Roberts | Eddie Rodriguez | Justin Rodriguez | Chris Turner | Tomas Uresti | Gary VanDeaver | Jason Villalba | Scott Cosper | Victoria Neave

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 522, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 306 (Very Similar)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/19/2017) Ina Minjarez (Chair) | Diego Bernal | Wayne Faircloth | Dan Huberty | Joe Moody |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/17/2017) José Menéndez (Chair) | Brandon Creighton | Joan Huffman | Jane Nelson | Judith Zaffirini |

Civil Remedies & Liabilities
Education--Primary & Secondary--Discipline
Minors--Crimes Against
Minors--Health & Safety

House Committee: Public Education (Dan Huberty, Alma Allen, Diego Bernal, Dwayne Bohac, Joe Deshotel, Harold V. Dutton, Jr., Lance Gooden, Ken King, Linda Koop, Morgan Meyer, Gary VanDeaver)
Minutes: May 8 2017 | April 18 2018
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Joan Huffman, Brian Birdwell, Brandon Creighton, Craig Estes, Bryan Hughes, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Charles Schwertner, Judith Zaffirini)
Minutes: April 6 2017 | April 20 2017

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.