HB 1239, 87th R.S. history

Help | Status

HB 1239, 87th R.S.
Relating to the prohibited suspension of laws protecting religious freedom and prohibited closure of places of worship.

Last action: Effective immediately

Author: Scott Sanford
Joint Author: Will Metcalf | Richard Peña Raymond | Shelby Slawson | Candy Noble
Coauthor: Steve Allison | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Trent Ashby | Cecil Bell | Keith Bell | Kyle Biedermann | Greg Bonnen | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Briscoe Cain | Giovanni Capriglione | Jeff Cason | David Cook | John Cyrier | Jay Dean | Jake Ellzey | James B. Frank | John Frullo | Ryan Guillen | Sam Harless | Cody Harris | Cole Hefner | Justin Holland | Lacey Hull | Todd Hunter | Jacey Jetton | Kyle Kacal | Phil King | Tracy King | Matt Krause | Stan Lambert | Brooks Landgraf | Jeff Leach | Ben Leman | Mayes Middleton | Sergio Muñoz, Jr. | Jim Murphy | Andrew Murr | Tom Oliverson | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Four Price | Glenn Rogers | Matt Schaefer | Matt Shaheen | Hugh Shine | Bryan Slaton | Reggie Smith | David Spiller | Phil Stephenson | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Steve Toth | Gary VanDeaver | Cody Vasut | James White | Terry M. Wilson
Sponsor: Angela Paxton
CoSponsor: Bob Hall | Paul Bettencourt | Eddie Lucio, Jr.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2021, 87th R.S.,ch. 799, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


SB 26 (Identical)
SB 251 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Civil Remedies & Liabilities
State Agencies, Boards & Commissions
State Officers

House Committee: State Affairs (Will Metcalf, Chris Paddie, Joe Deshotel, Sam Harless, Ana Hernandez, Donna Howard, Todd Hunter, Phil King, Eddie Lucio III, Richard Peña Raymond, Matt Shaheen, Shelby Slawson, John Smithee)
Minutes: March 25 2021 | April 1 2021
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Bryan Hughes, Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Donna Campbell, Bob Hall, Lois Kolkhorst, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Beverly Powell, Charles Schwertner, Judith Zaffirini)
Minutes: May 10 2021

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.