HB 1278, 78th R.S. history

Help | Status

HB 1278, 78th R.S.
Relating to an exemption from ad valorem taxation for property owned by a religious organization that is leased for use as a school or that is owned with the intent of expanding or constructing a religious facility.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Bill Zedler
Coauthor: Arlene Wohlgemuth | Betty Brown | Bryan Hughes | Leo Berman | Warren Chisum | Rob Eissler | Dan Flynn | Toby Goodman | Rick Hardcastle | Bill Keffer | Phil King | Jodie Laubenberg | Ken Mercer | Sid Miller | Ken Paxton | Larry Phillips | David Swinford | Sylvester Turner | Dwayne Bohac | Scott Campbell | Gabi Canales | Garnet Coleman | Linda Harper-Brown | Larry Taylor | Corbin Van Arsdale | George West | Joe Driver | Pete Gallego | Charlie Howard | Glenn Lewis | Ruth McClendon | Jim McReynolds | Aaron Peña | Chente Quintanilla
Sponsor: Kyle Janek

Remarks: Enabling legislation for HJR 55. This Act takes effect January 1, 2004, if the constitutional amendment (HJR 55, 78th Legislature) is approved by the voters. If the amendment is not approved, the Act has no effect.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2003, 78th R.S.,ch. 1052, General and Special Laws of Texas

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)

Conference Committee:

House Members: (appointed 05/29/2003; discharged 05/31/2003) Bill Zedler (Chair) | Joe Crabb | Kent Grusendorf | Fred Hill | Anna Mowery |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/31/2003) Kyle Janek (Chair) | Kip Averitt | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Todd Staples | Judith Zaffirini |


House Committee: Local Government Ways and Means (Fred Hill, Glenn Hegar, Jodie Laubenberg, Jim McReynolds, Anna Mowery, Robert Puente, Chente Quintanilla)
Minutes: March 27 2003 | April 8 2003
Senate Committee: Finance (Teel Bivins, Steve Ogden, Kip Averitt, Gonzalo Barrientos, Kim Brimer, Bob Deuell, Robert Duncan, Kyle Janek, Jane Nelson, Florence Shapiro, Eliot Shapleigh, Todd Staples, Royce West, John Whitmire, Tommy Williams, Judith Zaffirini)
Minutes: May 22 2003 | May 23 2003

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.