Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Direct search - Search resultsprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Search results Help  |  Status

SB 14, 82nd Regular Session
Relating to requirements to vote, including presenting proof of identification; providing criminal penalties.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Troy Fraser
Joint Author: Brian Birdwell | John Carona | Bob Deuell | Robert Duncan | Kevin Eltife | Craig Estes | Chris Harris | Glenn Hegar | Joan Huffman | Mike Jackson | Jane Nelson | Robert Nichols | Steve Ogden | Dan Patrick | Kel Seliger | Florence Shapiro | Jeff Wentworth | Tommy Williams
Sponsor: Patricia Harless
Joint Sponsor: Larry Taylor | Aaron Pena | Vicki Truitt | Todd Smith
CoSponsor: Jose Aliseda | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Rodney Anderson | Jimmie Aycock | Marva Beck | Leo Berman | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Dan Branch | Fred Brown | Cindy Burkett | Angie Button | Erwin Cain | Bill Callegari | Stefani Carter | Wayne Christian | Byron Cook | Tom Craddick | Brandon Creighton | Myra Crownover | Drew Darby | John Davis | Sarah Davis | Joe Driver | Rob Eissler | Gary Elkins | Allen Fletcher | Dan Flynn | John Frullo | Charlie Geren | Larry Gonzales | Lance Gooden | Mike Hamilton | Kelly Hancock | Rick Hardcastle | Harvey Hilderbran | Chuck Hopson | Charlie Howard | Dan Huberty | Bryan Hughes | Todd Hunter | Jason Isaac | Jim Keffer | Phil King | Susan King | Lois Kolkhorst | John Kuempel | Lyle Larson | Jodie Laubenberg | George Lavender | Ken Legler | Tryon Lewis | Jerry Madden | Dee Margo | Sid Miller | Geanie Morrison | Jim Murphy | Barbara Nash | Rob Orr | John Otto | Tan Parker | Diane Patrick | Ken Paxton | Charles Perry | Larry Phillips | Jim Pitts | Walter "Four" Price | Debbie Riddle | Allan Ritter | Charles Schwertner | Connie Scott | Kenneth Sheets | Ralph Sheffield | Mark Shelton | Wayne Smith | Burt Solomons | Van Taylor | Randy Weber | James White | Beverly Woolley | Paul Workman | Bill Zedler | John Zerwas | Jim Landtroop

Remarks: This Act takes effect January 1, 2012, except Sections 3, 5, 6, 7, 11, 22, and 24, take effect September 1, 2011.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2011, 82nd R.S.,ch. 123, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 248 (Similar)
HB 250 (Similar)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 04/08/2011) Patricia Harless (Chair) | Jose Aliseda | Dennis Bonnen | Vicki Truitt | Marc Veasey |

Senate Members: (appointed 04/05/2011) Troy Fraser (Chair) | Brian Birdwell | Joan Huffman | Leticia Van de Putte | Tommy Williams |

Elections--Registration & Suffrage

House Committee: Voter Identification & Voter Fraud, Select (Dennis Bonnen, Jose Aliseda, Roland Gutierrez, Patricia Harless, Harvey Hilderbran, Scott Hochberg, Aaron Pena, Larry Taylor, Marc Veasey)
Senate Committee: Committee of the Whole Senate (Brian Birdwell, John Carona, Wendy Davis, Bob Deuell, David Dewhurst, Robert Duncan, Rodney Ellis, Kevin Eltife, Craig Estes, Troy Fraser, Mario Gallegos, Jr., Chris Harris, Glenn Hegar, Juan Hinojosa, Joan Huffman, Mike Jackson, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Robert Nichols, Steve Ogden, Dan Patrick, Jose Rodriguez, Kel Seliger, Florence Shapiro, Carlos Uresti, Leticia Van de Putte, Kirk Watson, Jeff Wentworth, Royce West, John Whitmire, Tommy Williams, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.